Cover image for Moral disorder and other stories
Moral disorder and other stories
Publication Information:
[New York, N.Y.] : Books on Tape, 2006.
System Details:
Requires OverDrive Media Console (file size: 110468 KB).

Mode of access: World Wide Web.
General Note:
Downloadable audio file.

Title from: Title details screen.


Duration: 7:41:07.
The bad news -- The art of cooking and serving -- The headless horseman -- My last duchess -- The other place -- Monopoly -- Moral disorder -- The entities -- The labrador fiasco -- The boys at the lab.
Atwood triumphs with these dazzling, personal stories in her first collection since "Wilderness tips". In these ten interrelated stories Atwood traces the course of a life and also the lives intertwined with it, while evoking the drama and the humor that color common experiences -- the birth of a baby, divorce and remarriage, old age and death. With settings ranging from Toronto, northern Quebec, and rural Ontario, the stories begin in the present, as a couple no longer young situate themselves in a larger world no longer safe. Then the narrative goes back in time to the forties and moves chronologically forward toward the present. By turns funny, lyrical, incisive, tragic, earthy, shocking, and deeply personal, "Moral disorder" displays Atwood's celebrated storytelling gifts and unmistakable style to their best advantage. This is vintage Atwood, writing at the height of her powers.
Added Author: