Cover image for Inspector Alleyn mysteries Set 1
Inspector Alleyn mysteries Set 1
Publication Information:
Silver Spring, MD : Acorn Media, [2004]
Physical Description:
4 videodiscs (approximately 392 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
System Details:
DVD, NTSC, region 1, full screen (1.33:1) presentation; Dolby Digital stereo.
Target Audience:
MPAA rating: Not rated.
Language Note:
Closed-captioned in English.
Added Title:
Title on container: Inspector Alleyn mysteries. Set 1
General Note:
Based on the novels by Ngaio Marsh.

Originally broadcast on television in 1992.

Special features: Ngaio Marsh biography; cast filmographies.
disc 1. A man lay dead / written by Barbara Machin, directed by Sarah Pia Anderson -- disc 2. The nursing home murder / written by Devin Laffan, directed by Silvio Narizzano -- disc 3. Final curtain / written by Barbara Machin, Hugh Leonard, directed by Martyn Friend -- disc 4. Death at the bar / written by Alfred Shaughnessy, directed by Michael Winterbottom.
Inspector Alleyn has the upper crust contacts and manners, but like more modern detectives, he's a bona fide cop. Offers elegant country house settings, complex cases, and a detective who works for Scotland Yard. Agatha Troy is the Inspector's independent and insightful lady friend.